The Authentically Awesome

This is part of my Forever Grateful project.
As I was selling my home and placing my business on hi
atus for a period of time, I took portraits of about 30 people who influenced my career over the past 12 years. This was my way of saying “Thanks” and letting everyone know that I couldn’t have done it without their support.

Colleen,

You are Awesome! Period.

I could end this letter there, but I’ll indulge.

From client to classmate to marketing mentor, you have blessed me with your presence in a myriad of ways. When you hired me to shoot your headshots way back when, I loved your playful spirit and positivity. When we both took a writing workshop at Wordspace, I was thrilled to reconnect with you and to listen as you put the whimsy and joy, which you exude naturally, into your writing process.

Then, when I went to the ASMP’s (American Society of Media Photographers) Strictly Business Workshop and found out you were one of the speakers, I was excited to see the universe reuniting us yet again… but I was also wondering “Why is this actor/writer speaking at a seminar for photographers?”

As you took the stage, you proclaimed to all of us, “You Are Awesome!” and proceeded to convey how living and working authentically is the best way to find our voice and attract the clientele we have always wanted. You encouraged us to do whatever it is that excites and thrills us, instead of doing what we “think” will please people. At least this is what I got out of what you said.

I have yet to put all that you’ve taught me into practice, mainly because I’ve had trouble finding that thing that excites me without fail. But for me, this Forever Grateful project has definitely been one giant step forward towards living and working more authentically and passionately.

Forever grateful,

Blake

The Story Behind the Shot:

Colleen participated in an 100 day Instagram challenge where she drew a new phrase or word everyday for 100 days! Visit her feed to see of her project from a couple months back @communicatrix ( #100daysoflettering ). I asked her if we could put her into one of her pieces.

We laid out books to position where the words would go.

photo by Blake Gardner Photography

Then she started drawing as I adjusted the lights… and took a selfie.

photo by Blake Gardner Photography

We tested out the colored markers we had to make sure the colors we picked would pop.

photo by Blake Gardner Photography

And when we got it all looking good, she jumped into the shot.

Colleen Wainwright - photo by Blake Gardner Photography
Colleen Wainwright – photo by Blake Gardner Photography
Colleen Wainwright - photo by Blake Gardner Photography
Colleen Wainwright – photo by Blake Gardner Photography

After taking the singles of her, I asked if I could jump into a photo with her to create a Yin Yang inside her words… with her doing what she does best, being pure love, while I did what I do best, over think.

Colleen Wainwright & Blake Gardner - photo by Blake Gardner Photography
Colleen Wainwright & Blake Gardner – photo by Blake Gardner Photography

Check out more of my Forever Grateful project HERE

2 thoughts on “The Authentically Awesome

  1. Pingback: Forever Grateful |
  2. Pingback: Forever Grateful

Leave a comment